We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

I Can't Make You Love Me

from next by Jeff Oster



My father would sing, while I'd play the horn, and i always wanted my horn to sound like I was singing the words.

With Phil Aaberg's piano, Chuck Rainey's bass, Bernard Purdie's gentle beat, and Tom Eaton's Rhodes and Hammond, I think that you can almost hear them.

I Can't Make You Love Me was written by Mike Reid and Allen Shamblin. The idea for the song came to Reid while reading an article about a man arrested for getting drunk and shooting at his girlfriend's car. The judge asked him if he had learned anything, to which he replied, "I learned, Your Honor, that you can't make a woman love you if she don't."

Bonnie Raitt, recorded the track for her eleventh studio album, "Luck of the Draw" (1991) She recorded the vocal in just one take in the studio, later saying that it was so sad a song that she could not recapture the emotion: "We'd try to do it again and I just said, 'You know, this ain't going to happen."

I am honored to add the sound of my heart, through my horn, to this fine song...


from next, released April 14, 2015
Written by Mike Reid & Allen Shamblin

Jeff Oster: Flugelhorn
Chuck Rainey: Bass
Bernard Purdie: Drums
Tom Eaton: Fender Rhodes,
Hammond B-3, Keyboards
Philip Aaberg: Piano

Engineered by Tom Eaton
Additional Engineering by Steve Jankowski
& Philip Aaberg

Mixed by Tom Eaton

Produced by Will Ackerman, Tom Eaton and Jeff Oster

Published by Almo Music (ASCAP), Brio Blues Music (ASCAP),
Universal Music- MGB Songs (ASCAP)

© 1990 Almo Music, Brio Blues Music, Hayes Street Music


all rights reserved



Jeff Oster Alameda, California

Jeff's new album, BROTHERS (with Will Ackerman and Tom Eaton) was just nominated for Best New Age Album at the 64th Grammy® Awards.

He is one of the few trumpet/flugelhorn artists who's music will take you through chilled and dramatic soundscapes.

Five of his albums, "RELEASED", "TRUE", "SURRENDER" and "NEXT" and "REACH" have been voted as ZMR Album of the Year by broadcasters worldwide.
... more

contact / help

Contact Jeff Oster

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this track or account